A percentage looks reassuringly precise. It can make a cream with a small, tidy number seem easy to compare with a serum carrying a larger one. The difficulty is that the numbers may describe different things: an ingredient, a named complex, or a formulation detail that the seller has not fully defined.
Before ranking products by strength, write down the exact phrase next to the number. This guide explains how to read those phrases, what ingredient order can establish, and which questions remain for a manufacturer or dispensing pharmacist. It does not identify an ideal copper-peptide concentration for your skin.
First identify what the percentage measures. A pure ingredient, a supplied solution, and a multi-ingredient complex cannot be treated as interchangeable concentrations.
Start with the substance being measured
Imagine two fictional labels. One says “1% ingredient X”; the other says “10% complex containing ingredient X.” The second statement does not establish that it contains ten times as much X. A complex may include a carrier and other components, and the amount of X within it may be undisclosed. These are illustrative labels, not calculations of any product reviewed here.
A useful comparison needs the ingredient identity, what the percentage refers to, and how it is expressed. A supplier's solution and the finished product are separate reference points. If the seller has not specified the basis, leave that part of your comparison blank rather than choosing the interpretation that makes the product sound strongest.
You do not need to become a cosmetic chemist to ask this clearly: “Does that percentage refer to the named copper peptide itself in the finished product, or to a blend that contains it?” If customer service cannot answer, record the number as a marketing description with an unresolved meaning.
Product names are not interchangeable measurements
The CoreAge Rx Bounce Back page describes a 2% copper-peptide cream. That is the provider's stated formulation description. It is not, by itself, a certificate of analysis, a complete ingredient list, or a comparison trial against a retail serum. Ask the clinician or dispensing pharmacy to clarify the preparation actually prescribed.
Our existing Medik8 review discusses a multi-peptide-complex headline, while the NIOD review unpacks a name that distinguishes GHK-Cu and GHK. Those labels make different claims. Putting their largest visible numbers into one descending column would hide the differences that matter.
The new Biossance review provides another useful case: its current page lists Copper Tripeptide-1 but does not disclose a numerical concentration in the information reviewed. “Not disclosed” belongs in that comparison cell. It should not silently become zero, low strength, or a guessed fraction copied from a discussion forum.
Ingredient order has exceptions
The FDA's cosmetic labeling summary describes ingredients generally being listed in descending predominance, with exceptions including ingredients present at one percent or less and color additives. This makes an ingredient list useful for identifying components, but it is not a full recipe.
You cannot locate an exact percentage by counting how many items come before a peptide. Nor can you reliably mark where the one-percent portion starts simply by recognizing a familiar preservative. The public list does not supply all the concentrations needed to make that reconstruction.
Read the current packaging as well as the website. A formula can change, and a review may concern another market or an earlier version. Keep the product name, size, country listing, and date beside your notes. A precise calculation performed on the wrong formula is still the wrong comparison.
A blue appearance is not a laboratory assay
Some copper-peptide products are visibly blue, and manufacturers may attribute that appearance to their copper ingredients. The color of a finished formula does not give you a verified concentration. Container tint, lighting, other ingredients, and the appearance of the base also affect what you see in a photograph.
For the same reason, do not diagnose a new bottle as more potent because it looks darker beside a social-media image. If its appearance differs unexpectedly from the manufacturer's description or your previous bottle, contact the seller with the batch details. The storage guide explains what information is useful when asking about a changed product.
More ingredient does not establish more benefit
A concentration statement and a clinical outcome are separate pieces of evidence. To compare outcomes fairly, you would need information about the complete formulas, the people studied, the application method, the duration, and the measured results. Changing several of those variables at once prevents a clean conclusion about the percentage alone.
This also means that a missing concentration does not settle whether a product can moisturize or feel comfortable. Those are questions about the whole product and the person using it. The hydration comparison shows why a formula can contain both headline peptides and more familiar moisturizing ingredients without creating an either-or choice.
Do not try to turn an unclear number into a home formulation project. Adding raw peptide powders or mixing concentrated solutions into a finished cream changes the product. This guide does not establish the resulting stability, preservation, uniformity, or suitability for skin use.
Build a comparison that keeps the blanks visible
A small paper table is often enough. Give each product five fields: exact name, stated percentage wording, complete ingredient list available or unavailable, product directions, and evidence for the finished formula. Add a sixth field for the question you still need answered. This separates useful detail from assumptions.
For a compounded prescription, include the pharmacy's label and the prescriber's explanation. For a cosmetic serum, retain the carton or a readable photograph of its ingredient panel. Do not replace either document with a screenshot of a front-page claim.
Our ingredient introduction supplies the basic terminology, and our evidence guide addresses result claims. Together they support a more honest comparison than a highest-number-wins list. CoreAge Rx's first sponsored position remains a commercial decision, not the outcome of percentage arithmetic.
A percentage is not the only shortcut on a label. The natural and clean claims guide explains why ingredient origin does not establish safety or clinical results.
Sources & further reading
Commercial sources establish what a seller publishes. They do not independently verify its results. Browse the source library.
- FDA — Summary of cosmetics labeling requirementsRegulatory labeling guidance · checked 2026-09-26. Used for ingredient-list ordering and its exceptions. This is not a full review of current cosmetics law or an endorsement of a particular formula.
- CoreAge Rx — Bounce Back product pageProvider information · checked 2026-09-27. Main PDP describes copper peptide 2%, nighttime repair/firm and barrier support. The separate linked offer now specifies plan totals and a fragrance-free base; see the landing-page source for those details. Exact peptide identity, full base and controlled finished-product efficacy remain unverified.
- Biossance — Squalane + Copper Peptide Rapid Plumping SerumManufacturer information · checked 2026-09-26. US selected 50 mL listing displayed $69 and in-stock status. Formula, directions, and 31-woman study footnotes reviewed; no full protocol or independent comparative audit. Another size is mentioned without assigning the selected price to it.
- NIOD — Copper Amino Isolate Serum 3 1:1Manufacturer information · checked 2026-09-26. Ingredient descriptions, format, size choices, and brand-reported study footnotes. Full study reports were not independently audited, and we do not assign one price to every size.
- Medik8 — Liquid PeptidesManufacturer information · checked 2026-09-26. Original Liquid Peptides, 30 mL, 30% multi-peptide complex, layering guidance, and brand-reported 60-participant consumer-study footnote. The September 26 page showed out of stock and no verifiable current selling price; $68 was an earlier snapshot. Not Advanced MP.